RSS

Not By Sight, by Kate Breslin

20 Sep

Do you ever find that you don’t want to finish reading a book? That’s how I was with this one. Not because I didn’t want to read it, and not because I didn’t want to know how everything was going to play out.. but because I simply didn’t want my time with my friend Grace to be over. And that’s exactly how I see the heroine of this truly beautiful book.. as my friend.

Not By Sight is the tale of Grace Mabry, a young woman with high ideals and even higher ambitions. She has her sights set on gaining the vote for women, as well as on doing everything she can to aid in World War 1 so that her brother can come home. She is a fiery spirit who goes to great lengths showing her loyalty as a friend.

It is also Jack Benningham’s story. Jack, who is quite the dashing, handsome, ladies’ man with a reputation.. but also Jack, to whom there is so much more than meets the eye.

This historical novel is so very aptly named. Throughout its pages, both Grace and Jack learn, on several different levels, what it really means to live and walk by faith.. and Not By Sight. From chasing potential spies to helping friends make a new start in life, from learning who to trust (and how to trust them) to navigating the complex nature of love, the fact that all is not always as it seems becomes increasingly obvious to them. Even when we think we know the right path, it’s important to keep at the forefront of our minds that “it’s what we trust in but don’t yet see that keeps us going” (2 Corinthians 5:7, The Message).

Trusting God even when we can’t see how things could possibly work out.. this is what this book is all about. Whether it is through compensating for physical blindness or more on a spiritual level, the stars of this sweet story are confronted with learning to walk by faith at every turn and pothole in the road.

I highly recommend this Beauty and the Beast tale that Kate Breslin has woven. Personally, I think I’d classify it as a chicken salad sandwich type book. How did I come to this conclusion, you ask? This is something I’ve been considering since early on in my reading, and I decided on a chicken salad sandwich because it has substance.. this book has much meat to it, but also sweetness. I like craisins and apples in my chicken salad, so the combination of substantial meat to fill me up while at the same time getting the sweet flavor and variety of chewy versus crispy with the apples, craisins, and maybe a few nuts.. well, it seemed like the perfect comparison.
image

*I have had the privilege and honor of being on Kate Breslin’s launch team for Not By Sight and received this book in exchange for an honest review.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 20, 2015 in Historical fiction, Kate Breslin, Spies, World War 1

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
