RSS

The Viola Girl, by Sherri Schoenborn Murray 

29 Oct

I may have even loved this story more than the first one. May. It’s hard to say. I honestly really really love them both.

Sherri Schoenborn Murray has so captivated me with her unique storylines and her writing style. There is depth, there is feeling, there is so much I want to say but don’t even have words for.

The Viola Girl is all about Wren, the younger sister of Alia (The Piano Girl: Counterfeit Princess). I love that this book gave me the opportunity to get to know Wren, but I also really appreciate that it goes back in time and retells the beginning of Alia’s story – from Wren’s perspective. This gives an added dimension and provides a lot of insight into Wren’s emotion, choices, and her character as a whole.

Without giving away the story, Wren’s decision to run away to see her sister goes completely awry, leading to unexpected adventure and romance. I always find that I’m surprised by this talented writer… not necessarily in everything that happens (because there are things here and there that I suspect might happen) but I’m typically surprised by how things happen. By the twists, both large and small.

Danielle Winter is fabulous at giving Wren her own voice, as well as differentiating between characters.

I’d like to compare this story to a fruit-filled pastry. Sweet, yet not overly so. Just right. It’s a beautiful story, and one that I will revisit many times.

I received a free copy of this audio book in exchange for my honest review.. but I also have a purchased paperback setting on my bookshelf.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
